Electronic Resources

Electronic resources [databases and instruments] are available throughout the UAMS campus and to UAMS faculty, students, and staff from off-campus unless noted.
FREE
resources are marked with an asterisk (*).

Looking for additional electronic resources? See also eBooks, eJournals, or eReserves.


Browse Electronic Resources A - Z

A B C D E F G H I J k L M N o P q R S T U v W x y z



Quick Links

PubMed* - free MEDLINE; PubMed Training

EBSCO - CINAHL, PsycINFO, Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection, and DynaMed

Images.MD

Ovid - MEDLINE, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts- IPA, Cochrane Databases, and Health and Psychosocial Instruments- HAPI

Web of Science - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index

Google Scholar* - This resource provides an easy and efficient way to search for a known journal article or other scholarly publication.
Search tip: Enter an author’s name or words from the title (in quotes), and in one step, Google Scholar will search a broad array of online sources to find relevant citations.
Be sure to use Google Scholar’s Full Text@My Library link to access articles available through UAMS Library-paid subscriptions. 


A - Z List

A

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) - Full text articles from 1,850 scholarly journals covering virtually every area of academic study.

AccessMedicine - Full text and images from the most recent editions of gold standard textbooks in internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacology, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, and patient care. Includes USMLE prep from USMLEasy.com. Content is updated daily.

AGRICOLA (EBSCO) - article citations and books on animal sciences, food & nutrition, etc. This database can be used for AUP “animal alternatives” searches.

Arkansas Publications Index* - Index to articles and other information published in Arkansas county history journals, selected statewide magazines, and selected book titles. Covers the 1880s to the present.

Article1st (FirstSearch) - Article database from nearly 12,500 journals.

B

BELIT - Bioethics Literature Database; an extensive bibliographic directory of literature in the area of bioethics unique world wide, containing references to monographs, grey literature, legal documents, journal articles, newspaper articles and book contributions.

BioMedCentral * - Open access to text of journals published by BMC.

Business Source Elite (EBSCO) - Full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business journals.

C

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar) - Request software for your computer.

CINAHL (EBSCO) (for ACH users only)- Database of nursing and allied health articles, book chapters, theses, etc.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) -(for UAMS users only) - Index of over 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Searchable cited references for more than 1,155 journals. Full text for over 330 journals, plus legal cases, critical paths, research instruments and clinical trials. Includes Pre-CINAHL.

ClinicalResource@Ovid - ClinicalResource is an easy-to-use tool that provides one-click access to important clinical resources recommended by physicians for physicians. Coverage is in the areas of Clinical, Drug, EBM, and Guideline.

CRISP (Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects)* - searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions.

Current Index to Statistics - index to journal articles, proceedings, edited books, and other sources in statistics and related fields from 1975 to present.

D

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals * - Database of open access scientific and scholarly journals.

E

EBM Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (Ovid) - Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, DARE, ACP Journal Club, and the Cochrane Controlled Clinical Trials Registry.

EBSCO Host - Various biomedical, general, and academic databases.

Entrez (NCBI) National Center for Biotechnology Information*- A comprehensive list of all NCBI resources with the capability to cross-search all included databases. Some available are: Nucleotides, Proteins, Genome, and Structures. Includes GenBank, BLAST searches, Taxonomy and others.

ERIC (EBSCO) - Index to education journals and resources, including full-text ERIC digests.

ERIC (FirstSearch) - Journal articles and reports in education, children and adults.

Back to top

F

FirstSearch Databases

G

Gale Discovering Collection - Dictionary and specialized encyclopedias with coverage of science & health, geography, cultures, history, biography, and literature. Includes multimedia collection (images, video clips).

Genetics Home Reference* - This resource is the National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions.

Google Scholar* - This resource through Google provides an easy and efficient way to search for a known journal article or other scholarly publication.

GPO (FirstSearch) - Government documents.

Grolier Online - Includes seven encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia America, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, and The New Book of Popular Science.

H

HAPI - Health And Psychosocial Instruments (Ovid) - Reviews & articles related to questionnaires, etc. with information for getting the tool.

Haz-Map* - An occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work.

HEAL - Health Education Assets Library* - Free, high quality digital materials for health sciences education.

Health and Wellness Resource Center - A drug finder, medical encyclopedia, organization directory, and more.

Health Reference Center Academic - Some professional medical journals such as Science and Geriatrics.

Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) - Consumer edition includes pamphlets, popular reading magazines.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) - 500+ scholarly full text journals are included. (This is not the same as CINAHL)

Household Products Database* - This database links over 6,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.

I

Images.MD - Over 50,000 high quality images in health sciences each with informative text. Free for use in UAMS educational programs.

Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office* (National Library of Medicine) - More than 3.7 million references to monographs (250,000 items), dissertations (300,000 items), journal articles, newspaper articles, obituaries, and letters (2.5 million items) and portraits (4,400 items) covering 1880 - 1961 [more information]

InfoRetriever/InfoPOEMs - Concise, evidence-based clinical information from a variety of resources. Includes Cochrane abstracts, decision support tools, diagnostic calculators, full content of Griffith's 5MCC, and more. For full content description and search capabilities, see InfoRetriever's search tips. PDA download available.

IPA International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (Ovid) - Worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical sciences.

IRIS - Database of federal and private funding opportunities in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Back to top

J

Journal Citation Reports - Science Edition - Impact factors & related information for all sciences.

L

LactMed Drugs and Lactation - Includes maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breast fed infants and on lactation, and AAP breastfeeding compatibility ratings for over 450 drugs. Part of NLM's TOXNET system.

Legal Collection (EBSCO) - Contains full text for more than 250 scholarly law journals.

Lexi-Comp – point of care source for pharmacology and clinical information.  Clinical applications include drug interactions, tablet & capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.

Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) - Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and the information industry.  Beginning in 1960 indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings.

M

MEDLINE (OVID)

MEDLINE (PubMed)* - Comprehensive biomedical journal literature, multi-lingual, from the (U.S.) National Library of Medicine. Free Medline search tool for Medline developed by National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

MedlinePlus * - Health Information for the Public - Health Topics, MEDLINE, dictionaries, clearinghouses, directories, online publications, organizations, and libraries.

Mental Measurements Yearbook - Contains critical reviews and descriptive information of English-language standardized tests covering education, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Tests and Instruments searching guide.

MICROMEDEX - UAMS on-campus users only.

N

National Guidelines Clearinghouse* - Comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. Structured summaries with links to full-text guideline when available. A collaborative initiative by AHRQ, AMA, and AAHP.

National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature* - A specialized reference library devoted to research on ethical issues in health care, biomedical research, and technology.

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database - Evidence-based, evidence-rated information on herbal and dietary supplements. Includes natural product/drug interaction checker.

Natural Standard - Evidence-based, evidence-rated information on complementary and alternative therapies.

Newspaper Source (EBSCO) - Full text and abstracts from newspapers.

Back to top

P

PapersFirst (FirstSearch) - An index of papers presented at conferences.

PEIR - Pathology Education Instructional Resource* - A multidisciplinary public access image database for use in medical education.

PHIL - Public Health Image Library* - Free photographs, illustrations, and multimedia files from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Proceedings (FirstSearch) - An index of conference publications.

Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) - Education journals and reports. Includes full-text.

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) - Full text of articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association.

PsychiatryOnline - Full text access to the DSM-IV-TR, Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry with interactive study guide, American Journal of Psychiatry and 4 other psychiatry journal, APA practice guidelines, and self-assessment tools. PDA download available.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) - Full text, widely covers popular literature.

PsycINFO (EBSCO) - Database of journal articles, book chapters, dissertations & other sources from the American Psychological Association.

PubChem - Information on the biological activities of small molecules; the available databases are - Substance, Compound, and BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.

Public Health Virtual Library* - free government and organizational web sites in areas of public health. The site is intended for use by Arkansas' public health professionals.

PubMed * - Free Medline search tool for Medline developed by National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)

PubMed Central * - Database providing free access to full-text journals articles in the life sciences.

R

Recalls.gov - find product recalls and related information from US government agencies including Consumer Product Safety Commission, FDA, USDA, EPA, NHTSA, and US Coast Guard.

RefWorks - (requires registration) - software to create a personal database of citations, url's and links to files. Data may be imported electronically or entered manually. Contact Library Reference Desk at 686-6734 or libraryreferencedesk@uams.edu for off-campus access information.

Regional Business News (EBSCO) - Business journals, newspapers, and newswires from major metropolitan and rural US. Includes full-text.

Rehabilitation* - From the Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange.

S

Science Citation Index (Web of Science)

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) - Request software for your computer.

Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science)

SocINDEX (EBSCO) – indexes over 1800 journals plus provides full-text for 314 journals, 547 books, and 6,711 conference papers.

STAT!Ref - 33 online medical and drug reference texts.

STAT!Ref Dentistry Collection - 13 dentistry textbooks.

Back to top

T

TOXMAP* - Environmental health e-maps. Shows where chemicals are released on-site into the air, water, and ground. It also identifies releasing facilities, single year releases, and chemical release trends over time.

TOXNET* - Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

ToxSeek* - a meta-search engine that enables simultaneous searching of many different information resources on the Internet.  The ToxSeek user interface allows selection of resources from a wide range of authoritative sources from NLM, NIH, CDC, WHO, and many other national and international government resources.

U

UpToDate - Concise topic reviews of published evidence with recommendations for patient care. Includes Lexi-Interact drug interactions analysis tool.
** Access available only on UAMS, AHEC, and ACH campuses.

W

Web of Science - Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Science Citation Index.

WebWISER* - A system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice.

WorldAlmanac (FirstSearch) - The World Almanacs.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) - Index to books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses (FirstSearch)

Back to top

Page Last Updated: 2/18/09

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Library
4301 W. Markham St. #586, Little Rock, AR 72205

Call Reference at 501-686-6734 | Email Reference
Call Circulation 501-686-5980 | Email Circulation

Questions about this page? Send us an email
All contents © 2000-2009
Copyright Statement    Disclaimer    Privacy Statement