Guide to Nursing Literature: Selected Resources

Searching Journal Articles | CINAHL Guide| Books| Writing & Citing| Course Quick Links

This guide will help you get started with your research. Need additional help? Contact the Reference Services Department in person between the hours of 7:00am-6:00pm M-F on the first floor (ED II) or by email at LibraryReferenceDesk@uams.edu or by phone at (501) 686-6734 or make an individual or group appointment with the Library Liaison for the College of Nursing, Debra Lee Miller.

Search for Journal/Research Articles, Conference Papers, Dissertations by Topic

eResources

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text – Ebsco database
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. The premiere research database for nursing literature.
Quick Search Tips - UAMS Library
CINAHL Support Center
Help Sheets & User Guides
Searching Tutorial

PubMed MEDLINE
Clinical and biomedical research articles and literature. Refine your search by year, age groups, practice guidelines, nursing journals, and more using the Limits tab in PubMed.
Tutorial
Understanding the Vocabulary (MESH Headings)

Building the Seach
Managing the Results

Web of Science (Science and Social Science Citation Index)
Includes literature in public health, political science, anthropology, urban studies and more.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - Ebsco database
Coverage of nursing and allied health journal literature. Some overlap, some unique with CINAHL.

PsycInfo – Ebsco database
Journal literature related to psychosocial aspects of health and mental illness.

SocIndex with Full-Text – Ebsco database
Literature related to society and health.

Mental Measurements Yearbook – Ebsco database
Critical reviews and descriptive information of published, standardized tests covering education, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Guide to Searching

National Guidelines Clearinghouse
Comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents.

ERIC – Ebsco database
Contains some nursing education literature.

WorldCat - FirstSearch
Includes databases for searching dissertations, conference papers and proceedings.

Images.MD
Locate health sciences charts, illustrations, and photographs for educational presentations.

Search Journals owned by the Library

eJournals
Search and browse eJournals by title. If there is not a match, search our print journal collection.

Print Journals
All print journals are listed in the UAMS Library online catalog and are located alphabetically by journal title on the 2nd (1990 - present) and 3rd (1989 - 1966) floors. Journals older than 1966 are stored outside the library and can be requested: Storage Item Request Form.

Search for Books owned by the Library

eBooks
See sections for nursing, pediatrics, geriatrics, psychiatry, etc. Some examples are:

Davis’s Drug Guide for Nurses
Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual
Foundations of Nursing Research
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice
Nursing Care Plans & Documentation
5-Minute Pediatric Consult

Print Books
Search the UAMS Library online catalog by book title or broad topic such as:

Nursing Theory
Palliative care
Geriatric Nurs* (truncation symbol *, looks for nurse, nursing)

Fines for overdue books are $1.00 per day per book with a maximum fine of $100.00 per item.

UAMS nursing theses and dissertations are arranged by year then author's last name on the third floor with the book collection in the call number area: W 4 Ar48t.

Writing & Citing

Course Quick Links

Last Updated: 05/29/2009

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Library
4301 W. Markham St. #586, Little Rock, AR 72205

Call Reference at 501-686-6734 | Email Reference
Call Circulation 501-686-5980 | Email Circulation

Questions about this page? Send us an email
All contents © 2000-2009
Copyright Statement    Disclaimer    Privacy Statement