Toxicology and Pharmacology Literature

Journal Literature| Clinical & Pharmacology Tools | PDA & Mobile Device Tools | eBooks |
NLM Toxicology Tutorial

Questions? Stop by the Reference Services Department located on the first floor (ED II) or make an individual or group appointment with a librarian: LibraryReferenceDesk@uams.edu (501) 686-6734 (7:30 - 6pm M-F).

Journal/Research Articles

PubMed MEDLINE
Clinical and biomedical research articles and literature.
Example Research Question

Web of Science
Covers literature in chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacology, plant science, neuroscience.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Comprehensive information is included for drug therapy, toxicity, as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.

SciFinder Scholar
Chemical Abstracts - Request software for your computer

eJournals
Search and browse eJournals by title. If there is not a match, search our print journal collection.

Print Journals
All print journals are listed in the UAMS Library online catalog and are located alphabetically by journal title on the 2nd (1990 - present) and 3rd (1989 - 1966) floors. Journals older than 1966 are stored outside the library and can be requested: Storage Item Request Form.

Clinical &Pharmacology Tools

Lexi Comp
Point of care source for pharmacology and clinical information.  Clinical applications include drug interactions, tablet & capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.

MICROMEDEX
A wide range of clinical databases, including referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.

Natural Standard
Evidence-based, evidence-rated information on complementary and alternative therapies.

DynaMed
Summaries of diseases, disorders, and symptoms, with information on etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse
Comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. A collaborative initiative by AHRQ, AMA, and AAHP.

UpToDate - on campus only
Concise topic reviews of published evidence with recommendations for patient care. Includes Lexi-Interact drug interactions analysis tool.

PDA Resources

Lexi-Comp - see description above

Clinical Xpert - formally MobileMICROMEDEX

DynaMed - see description above

WISER
Designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents.

eBooks
See sections for toxicology, pharmacology, medicine, etc. Some examples are:

Goldfrank’s Toxicologic Emergencies
Casarett & Doull’s Essentials of Toxicology
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology
Handbook on Injectable Drugs
Pharmacoepidemiology: Principles & Practice
Pharmacy and Federal Drug Law Review
Review of Natural Products

Print Books
Search the UAMS Library online catalog by book title or broad topic such as:

molecular genet* (truncation symbol * - looks for genetic, genetics)

Fines for overdue books are $1.00 per day per book.

NLM Toxicology Tutorials

The Toxicology Tutors are intended to provide a basic understanding of toxicology as an aide for users of toxicology literature contained in the National Library of Medicine's Chemical and Toxicological databases. 

Last Updated: 10/10/2007

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Library
4301 W. Markham St. #586, Little Rock, AR 72205

Call Reference at 501-686-6734 | Email Reference
Call Circulation 501-686-5980 | Email Circulation

Questions about this page? Send us an email
All contents © 2000-2009
Copyright Statement    Disclaimer    Privacy Statement