Guide to Literature in Public Health

Searching Journal Articles | Books | Web Links | Writing & Citing | Course Quick Links

This guide will help you get started with your research. Need additional help? Stop by the Reference Services Department located on the first floor (ED II) or make an individual or group appointment with a librarian: LibraryReferenceDesk@uams.edu (501) 686-6734 (7:30 - 6pm M-F).

Search for Journal/Research Articles, Conference Papers, Dissertations by Topic

eResources

PubMed MEDLINE
Clinical and biomedical research articles and literature. Refine your search by year, age groups, practice guidelines, and more using the Limits tab in PubMed.
Search Strategy Development

Web of Science (Science and Social Science Citation Index)
Includes literature in public health, political science, anthropology, urban studies and more.

Ebsco Databases

PsycInfo
Journal literature related to psychosocial aspects of health and mental illness.

SocIndex with Full-Text
Literature related to society and health.

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Contains some health education and health assessment literature.
Quick Search Tips
Tutorial (8 min)

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Critical reviews and descriptive information of published, standardized tests covering education, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Guide to Searching

Academic Search Elite - Multidisciplinary database of literature.

Legal Collection - Includes 260 law journals.

Business Source Elite - Business journals dating back to 1985.

ERIC
Search topics related to elementary, secondary, and higher education literature.

WorldCat - FirstSearch
Includes databases for searching dissertations, conference papers and proceedings.

Search Journals owned by the Library

eJournals
Search and browse eJournals by title. If there is not a match, search our print journal collection.

Print Journals
All print journals are listed in the UAMS Library online catalog and are located alphabetically by journal title on the 2nd (1990 - present) and 3rd (1989 - 1966) floors. Journals older than 1966 are stored outside the library and can be requested: Storage Item Request Form.

Search for Books owned by the Library

eBooks
See sections for public health, biostatistics, etc. Some examples are:

Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care
Medical Epidemiology
Understanding Health Policy
Infectious Diseases
Priorities in Health
Global Burden of Disease and Risk Factors
Basic & Clinical Biostatistics

Print Books
Search the UAMS Library online catalog by book title or broad topic such as:

Community Health
Health Promotion
Social Marketing
health manag* (truncation symbol *; looks for manage, managing, management)

Fines for overdue books are $1.00 per day per book. Many public health textbooks are available for check-out in the book collection. Search by title in the online catalog.

Web Links

Writing & Citing

Course Quick Links

Last Updated: 08/15/2007

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Library
4301 W. Markham St. #586, Little Rock, AR 72205

Call Reference at 501-686-6734 | Email Reference
Call Circulation 501-686-5980 | Email Circulation

Questions about this page? Send us an email
All contents © 2000-2009
Copyright Statement    Disclaimer    Privacy Statement