Guide to Resources in Medical Technology

Searching Journal Articles |Clinical Resources | eBooks| Writing & Citing| Course Quick Links

This guide will help you get started with your research. Need additional help? Stop by the Reference Services Department located on the first floor (ED II) or make an individual or group appointment with a librarian: LibraryReferenceDesk@uams.edu (501) 686-6734 (7:30 - 6pm M-F).

The following is a selected list of resources for searching for journal/research articles. Use a UAMS ID login for off-campus access.

eResources

PubMed MEDLINE
Clinical and biomedical research articles and literature. Refine your search by year, age groups, practice guidelines, RCT and controlled trials, and more using the Limits tab in PubMed.
Search Strategy Development

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text – Ebsco database
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. The premiere research database for allied health literature.
Quick Search Tips
Tutorial (8 min)

Images.MD
Locate health sciences charts, illustrations, and photographs for educational presentations.

Clinical Resources

AccessMedicine
Full text and images from the most recent editions of gold standard textbooks in internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacology, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, and patient care. Some features require free account registration, PDA download available.

Evidence Based Medicine Reviews
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, DARE, ACP Journal Club, and the Cochrane Controlled Clinical Trials Registry.

InfoRetriever/InfoPOEMs
Concise, evidence-based clinical information from a variety of resources. Includes Cochrane abstracts, decision support tools, diagnostic calculators, full content of Griffith's 5MCC, and more. For full content description and search capabilities, see InfoRetriever's search tips. PDA download available.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse
Comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents.

MedCalc
MedCalc 3000 encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools. Select the "Resources" tab when you enter StatREF for access.

Search Journals owned by the Library

eJournals
Search and browse eJournals by title. If there is not a match, search our print journal collection.

Selected Titles:

Laboratory Medicine
Laboratory Investigation
Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease
International Journal of Imaging Systems
Radiography
Topics in Magnetic Resonance Imaging
Diagnostic Cytopathology

Search for eBooks owned by the Library

eBooks
See sections for diagnosis, laboratory techniques, endocrinology, genetics, histology, immunology, etc. Some examples are:

Delmar’s Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests
Histology Image Review
Williams Textbook of Endocrinology
Infectious Diseases
Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests
Pocket guide to Diagnostic Tests
Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease
Approved Lists of Bacterial Names

Print Books
Search the UAMS Library online catalog by book title or broad topic such as:

diagnostic test* or lab* test*
microbiological techniques
instrumentation
laboratory mathematic* (use * to truncate a word for more results)

Fines for overdue books are $1.00 per day per book.

Writing & Citing

Course Quick Links

Last Updated: 08/13/2007

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Library
4301 W. Markham St. #586, Little Rock, AR 72205

Call Reference at 501-686-6734 | Email Reference
Call Circulation 501-686-5980 | Email Circulation

Questions about this page? Send us an email
All contents © 2000-2009
Copyright Statement    Disclaimer    Privacy Statement