CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature

Searching | Limit to Research / Journal Articles | Limit to Nurse Authors | Full-Text options

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text provides indexing for over 3, 800 journals, over 750 of which are full text, in the fields of nursing, allied heath, biomedicine, complementary & alternative medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplins from 1937 to present. In addition the database offers full text access to over 220/books/monographs, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice and more.

Searching CINAHL
Begin your search from the Advanced Search tab.  Enter your search terms, using keywords or CINAHL Headings.

Search History/Alerts
Directly below the search box is a tab for Search History/Alerts. This option allows you to view your recent search statements, and to combine multiple search statements using AND or OR.

Ebsco Search

Limit by Publication type, Age, etc.
Select the Limits you want from the various categories that appear under the Refine Search tab.  Below are a few of the categories with some examples:

Publication Types
--journal articles
--nursing interventions
--research
--consumer/patient teaching materials
--research instrument

Age Groups

--fetus, conception to birth
--aged, 80 and over

Special Interest Category
--home health care
--advanced nursing practice

Tip: Choose only a few limits from different categories at one time since the computer will AND them with your topic and results may decrease rapidly (sometimes to zero!).  It's easier to add another limit than take one away.

Full-Text Articles  
Look for direct links to UAMS full-text, or go directly to the PDF file of the article.
Click here to read

Nurse Authors
View the entire article for author credentials. The credentials may not be available for every article, and unfortunately, there is not a limit option to nursing authors in CINAHL.

Another option to Try! In the Advanced Search, truncate (nurs*) and change the "Select a Field" drop box to "AF Author Affiliation." This may narrow the search to nursing authors.

Nurse

Last Updated:26 May 2009

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Library
4301 W. Markham St. #586, Little Rock, AR 72205

Call Reference at 501-686-6734 | Email Reference
Call Circulation 501-686-5980 | Email Circulation

Questions about this page? Send us an email
All contents © 2000-2009
Copyright Statement    Disclaimer    Privacy Statement